First off, I want to get this out of the way:
Hi Lauren. If you're reading this, odds are you know what it's about. If you're waiting for an apology, I suggest you pack a lunch.
Now, for the rest of you, however many faceless internet strangers that may be.
Family is a funny thing. Theoretically, all it is is people who share a part of their genetic makeup with you. But that little double helix we call DNA is more than just skin deep (feel free to take a minute to contemplate whether that was really clever or really stupid). Family is a completely irrational construct, when you get down to it. Ok, I know, it ensures reproduction, and therefore the continuation of the species, yada yada yada. But to be honest, I'm pretty sick of evolutionary psychology. Not that it doesn't make sense, because it mostly makes a shitton of it, but it bores me, and for the sake of this blog, I'm gonna assume it bores you also. Anyway, family is irrational because of Ayn Rand. If you do not know who that is, shame on you, go read a fucking book instead of this blog, and learn something for gods sake.
Anyway, for those literate minded individuals among you, Ayn Rand was a proponent of a philosophy she called Objectivism. This philosophy basically stated that as humans, we are unique in that we possess the ability to reason, and therefore it was our duty to mostly ignore our emotional sides, and act in an entirely rational way at all times. The way to do this was to make money. Lots of it. In fact, her characters efforts went pretty much entirely into capitalistic pursuits (when they weren't fucking that is. If Angelina Joles is cast as Dagny Taggart as rumored, she is once again gonna spend a lot of time onscreen with her tatas hanging out. Don't screw this up for us, Hollywood). Those who gave or asked for charity were depicted as weak, angry, stupid little people, who through sheer pluck and determination, could pull themselves up by their own bootstraps. That is, if they hadn't been so weak, angry and stupid.
ANYWAY. The problem is, Ayn never wrote about kids. Kids aren't rational. When I was a kid, my favourite show was about 4 turtles that walked through radioactive goo and became ninjas trained by a rat, who fought a gigantic talking brain that lived in the stomach of a man-shaped suit.
And this seemed entirely reasonable to me and kind of expected this kind of shit to happen in day to day life.
So kids can't participate in capitalistic ventures. And they HINDER their parents attempts to do same. You simply cannot put the same effort into making money once your kids are born. Well, you can, but you're probably a shitty parent. Kids require love and attention just as much as money to put a roof over their head, food on the table, etc...Plus they tire a parent out, so there is just less energy to be put towards earning. It's that simple.
So, family is irrational. But we stay with it, because it just FEELS GOOD. It gives us a sense of belonging, a sense of home in the truest sense. I've been out of the house a good while now, but my apartment will never make me feel the way my parents' house does.
Which brings me to the title of this blog. Finally.
A sister of mine, who shall not be named, said something truly stupid and just plain, old fashioned mean to me tonight. Let's regress to cihldhood: she hurt my feelings. She knew it. Everyone present knew it was a stupid, thing to say. There was no apology issued. There is more I can write about this, and I'd like to, if only to vent. But the fact is, I'm only using this to make a point, not to get revenge.
The point is, I still love my sister. I would forgive her for anything she does. That is the irrationality of family. Yes, she's inconsiderate, ill-tempered, bitchy, and many other negative things. She's also very bright, can be capable of great generosity and kindness, and she's tough as nails, among many other positive attributes. But I don't love her for her pros and cons, I love her because she's my sister. It's not rational to forgive and forgive, but we do it. And that's the greatest refutation of Rand I can think of. She might be the objective one, but hey, she died alone and was mourned by Alan Greenspan. I can't think of anything worse.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

No comments:
Post a Comment