Thursday, February 5, 2009

Why I can never be a hipster, no matter how little I try

As we all know, Montreal is the doucheba.... I mean, hipster capital of the world. This fact came to light a few years ago when every skinny tie wearing fuckhead in the world moved to the Plateau to be near the magic... nay, the orgasmic karma... nay, the pure, unadulterated genius of (you guessed it) The Arcade Fire. Gods gift to music, descended from heaven itself to grace us with its bombastic intrumentation and downright prophetic lyrics. Which would have been cool: people have flocked to Memphis to be near Elvis (or what's left of him). Liverpool became a mecca for music fans hoping to get a bit of that Beatles magic. So it all would have been groovy except for one thing:

The Arcade Fire fucking suck. And I don't mean they suck in the way that boy bands suck, or that disco sucks. The Arcade Fire have managed to invent a whole new way to suck, and it has little to do with how shitty the band is (although, they are EXTREMELY shitty). It's a mixture of how insanely pompous the band is (you never hear them denying the claims that they saved music), but it's mostly with how smug their fans are. Go to an AF concert, and I guarantee you, you will not find one person who is not a complete and utter jackass in the joint.
This whole thing was meant to be funny, but I'm tired, and don't know where it's going. Needless to say, I hope the Arcade Fire pull a Lynyrd Skynyrd/Buddy Holly-Big Bopper-Richie Valens, plus a little of a Duane Allman, and a sprinkle of Great White.

No comments:

Post a Comment